Human Resource Division                                                                                 July 1, 2009


RECENT PERSONNEL POLICY CHANGE

Policy 2509, “Driving Privileges”

EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2009

CHANGES MADE:  

The policy was re-titled “Driving Privileges.”

The policy was modified to state that employees who drive a department vehicle in the course of their job must immediately report any restrictions of their driving privileges to their supervisor, including any requirement for the use of a certified ignition interlock device.   A certified ignition interlock device is a breath-analyzing device that must show a negative reading for vehicle start-up.  Per Missouri SB 930 and 947 that take effect on July 1, 2009, installation of a certified ignition interlock device is required for a minimum of six months on vehicles of drivers who have been found guilty of more than one alcohol-related offense and are re-establishing their driving privileges. 
Language was also included which stipulates that securing driving privileges subject to restrictions, including but not limited to, a certified ignition interlock device requirement, may be determined as not maintaining driving privileges, and therefore the employee may be subject to discipline, up to and including termination. 

Language was added providing a cross-reference for matters concerning the use of personal vehicles and/or department vehicles to Personnel Policy 0504, “Vehicle Usage and Liability.”  

Language was clarified to state an employee who is to be terminated as a result of Personnel Policy 2509, “Driving Privileges,” can be considered for any current open department vacancy, provided the position does not require frequent use of a department vehicle to perform job duties.

Language was added to clarify that employees who have lost driving privileges for a second or subsequent time are subject to discipline, up to and including termination.
WHY CHANGES WERE MADE:  Policy language was modified throughout the policy to account for Missouri SB 930 and 947, which take effect on July 1, 2009.  

In response to this law, MoDOT will prohibit the use of certified ignition interlock devices on department vehicles.  Therefore, policy language needed to be modified to account for this organizational decision to prohibit certified ignition interlock devices on department vehicles.




FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:

· How does this impact employees in CDL positions?  Employees in CDL-required jobs who lose their CDL driving privileges as provided under current Missouri law would still be terminated from employment if they fail to re-establish their CDL privileges within the 90-day interim period. 

· How does this impact me if I’m in a job that does not require a CDL, but my job requires frequent use of a department vehicle to perform my job duties?  If you are charged with an alcohol-related offense, you may remain on the job provided that while awaiting adjudication of that offense, you have the required driving privileges and have no certified ignition interlock device restriction.  Once the offense is adjudicated, if the outcome is a restricted driving privilege but with a certified ignition interlock device requirement, you would have up to 90 days to remove the certified ignition interlock device requirement from your driving privileges.  Failure to do so within that 90-day time period could mean discipline, up to and including termination from the department.  

· What happens if I don’t report that I lost my driving privileges and/or that I have restricted driving privileges, including a certified ignition interlock device requirement?  An employee whose job responsibilities include driving a department vehicle must immediately report lost driving privileges and/or restricted privileges, including, but not limited to, the use of a certified ignition interlock device to their supervisor.  Failure to do so will result in disciplinary action, up to and including termination.  

· Can I use my personal vehicle in lieu of a department vehicle for a period of time if I have a certified ignition interlock device requirement on my driving privileges?   New language was added to this policy that prohibits the use of a personal vehicle when frequent driving of a department vehicle is required to perform job duties. 
· How will this impact job applicants who apply for jobs at MoDOT?  Applicants who apply for positions at MoDOT that require frequent driving of a department vehicle to perform job duties will be denied employment if they have driving privilege restrictions including, but not limited to, certified ignition interlock device requirements.

